Surrendered Love

Surrendered Love Cover (1)

Laura Hilton is here today to share with us about Surrendered Love. Please tell us about your book Laura.

Janna Kauffman loves grocery shopping for the homebound in her Amish community. When Janna’s sister washes her hands of her rebellious daughter, Meghan, and sends her to live with her Amish relatives, Janna is spending less time shopping and more time explaining Meghan’s actions to police officer Hiram “Troy” Troyer. Formerly Amish Troy becomes a regular part of Janna and Meghan’s lives as Meghan continues to act out due to her Englisch mother’s rejection. Could God tame a headstrong teenager and help Janna and Troy find love in the midst of it all?

What made you want to write Amish Fiction? 

I am descended from Amish maternal grandparents and I have always been fascinated by the people and the culture. So I decided to try.

I can imagine having an Amish heritage would be a good motivator. 🙂 What kind of research did you do?

I have traveled to Seymour many times, and I find it easier to write about real places I’ve seen. It is also helpful to pick up brochures and postcards if available, and take  pictures (obviously, not of the Amish.)

What made you want to become a writer?

I’ve always wanted to be a writer, and played with it most all of my life. What God has given you a passion for He’s given you permission for. I have that posted beside my desk.
What are you currently reading or Have you read a book recently that you want to recommend?  

Currently, I’m reading Duchess by Susan May Warren.  One of the best books I’ve read lately was Susan’s book, You Don’t Know Me.  Great story. 

I’m reading You Don’t Know Me also. 🙂 Thanks for joining us today, Laura and sharing a little about yourself and and your book Surrendered Love.

Laura has offered to give away one copy of her book to a lucky commenter. You must answer the following question to be entered. What are you currently reading, or what is a favorite book that you’ve read recently?

Rules: You must have a US address. There must be at least ten qualifying comments for the drawing to take place. The drawing ends on June 16, 2013. Void where prohibited by law.

35839_1469192045700_1110551537_1419357_4095333_n

Award winning author, Laura Hilton, her husband, Steve, and their five children make their home in Horseshoe Bend, Arkansas. She is a pastor’s wife, a stay-at-home mom and home-schools three of her children. Her two oldest children are homeschool graduates and are in college. Laura is also a breast cancer survivor.

Her publishing credits include three books in the Amish of Seymour series from Whitaker House: Patchwork Dreams, A Harvest of Hearts, and Promised to Another. And the Amish of Webster County series, Healing Love. Surrendered Love releases April 2013, and the third book will release September 2013. A nonAmish book The Appalachian Ballad Quilt will release November 2014 from Abingdon Press. Laura is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers. Laura is a professional book reviewer for the Christian market, with over a thousand book reviews published at various online review sites.

23 thoughts on “Surrendered Love

  1. cheriswalwell

    I just finished The Face of the Earth by Deborah Raney. It was a great read and I couldn’t put it down. It brought me to tears at the end because the emotions were so real. Thanks for this opportunity to read and receive what sounds like a great book here as well.

    clSwalwell@gmail.com

    In Him,

    Cheri 🙂

    Reply
  2. Judy B

    I recently finished Laura’s book, Awakened Love. Oh my goodness, that book was so good! I love a good page turner and this one was exactly that!
    I found that I do not have Surrendered Love! How did I miss the second book in this series! Winning a copy of it would be wonderful!
    Blessings!
    Judy B

    Reply
  3. mary ellen ashenfelder

    I just finished the Bliss Creek series by Kelly Irvin — awesome. I enjoyed reading this interview. Thank you.

    Reply
  4. Paula Osborne

    I am reading Adoring Addie, good story..would love to be reading Surrendered Love.
    nice interview today and love your setting at top of page, looks like a great place to curl up and read or drink a nice cup of coffee..

    Reply
  5. Brittany McEuen

    I just finished the book, Mary’s Blessing by Lena Nelson Dooley. Second in the series and really enjoyed it. Great quote- ” What God has given you a passion for He’s given you permission for.” Really like that!

    Reply
  6. Linda

    I so cannot wait to read and review your books. I love finding new authors and getting to know them more personally and I love finding blogs and websites to learn about them on. Facebook is a wonderful place to, to share with others and the authors… Thank you for sharing.
    Linda Finn
    faithfulacres7@gmail.com

    Reply
  7. KayM

    I enjoyed the interview and learning about Laura. I just finished Dee Henderson’s Before I Wake. It was very good and kept me up reading too long into the night! Now, I have started For Maria by Bruce Judisch. He is a new author to me and I really like his writing and the intertwining stories. Very compelling! I would be thrilled to win a copy of Surrendered Love.

    Reply
  8. Karen G

    Just finished Something Old by Dianne Christner. Reading Majestic and Wild by Murray Pura and also reading Amity & Sorrow by Peggy Riley. Many more to read in my TBR pile and I would love to win Surrendered Love since I don’t have that one yet.

    Reply
  9. Maxie Lloyd-Hamilton Anderson

    The book I am reading is “Special Delivery” by Kathi Macias. Everyone should read these books of hers. I would love to win this book of Laura’s. I have the first one, “Healing Love” and need this second one. Thanks for the chance to win it. MAXIE mac262(at)me(dot)com

    Reply
  10. Lourdes Montes

    Just finished reading the last book in Lynette Eason’s Deadly Reunion Series she is one of my favorite authors.

    Reply
  11. Barbara Ann Beers

    I just finished reading “A Vow for Always” (#6 of 6 in the Discovery series) by Wanda Brunstetter. I loved the whole series!

    Reply
  12. Karen Sue Kimberly

    I am reading “The Winnowing Season” by Cindy Woodsmall. I love to read about the Amish.

    Reply
  13. Kay from NY

    I’m reading two books “Healing Love” by Laura HIlton during the day and “The German Bride” by Joanna Hershon at bedtime.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

