Calico Brides

calico brides

This week features Darlene Franklin’s book Calico Brides.

 Determined to sow good deeds into the lives of needy people, the four youngest members of the 1876 Calico, Kansas, sewing circle reap romance. Gladys Polson, designing to aid a crotchety widower, falls for a stranger. Annie Bliss, knitting for soldiers, has a fort chaplain on pins and needles. Birdy Landry, sewing dresses for saloon girls looking for a new life, has her feathers ruffled by a beneficent shopkeeper. Schoolteacher Ruth Fairfield is about to teach a new guardian a few lessons in life and love. Will God stitch forever-after romances into the lives of these four women?

If you would like to be entered into a drawing to win a copy of Calico Brides please answer the following question. Where is your favorite place to read?

Rules: Drawing is only open to US addresses. There must be a minimum of ten qualifying comments for the drawing to take place. The drawing ends Sunday June 9th, 2013. The winner will be notified by email Monday June 10th, 2013. Remember you must answer the question to be entered into the drawing. Void where prohibited by law

Darlene loves music, needlework, reading, and reality TV. She has published several titles with Barbour Publishing, including her two latest releases, A Bride’s Rogue in Roma, Texas, and Merry Christmas, With Love, in Postmark: Christmas. She has also written two books in the Texas Trails series with RiverNorth Fiction, Lone Star Trail and A Ranger’s Trail. She’s a member of Oklahoma City Christian Fiction Writers.

You can find Darlene online at http://darlenefranklinwrites.blogspot.com/, http://mydailynibble.blogspot.com/ and https://www.facebook.com/darlene.franklin.3 You may also be interested in my Facebook page, Darlene’s 5 Questions a Day (https://www.facebook.com/groups/542991419047696/?bookmark_t=group) where I will answer the first five questions related to the writing life posed on any given day. Group members are also welcome to contribute.

30 thoughts on “Calico Brides

    1. Kimberly Rose Johnson Post author

      Hi Merry, on cold days I enjoy curling up on my couch with a good book. Isn’t cozy furniture the best? 🙂
      Although it’s not my favorite spot to read, I probably read the most in my car while waiting for my kids.

      Reply
    1. Kimberly Rose Johnson Post author

      Oh my goodness, Darlene. Glad you have a safe room to hide in! I was recently talking with another writer in Oklahoma who says she hides in her closet and prays because she doesn’t have anywhere else to go. Stay safe.

      Reply
  1. cmh512 (@cmh512)

    My favorite place to read is in our family room, in a corner nook~ During the winter
    months, I have the fireplace going and I sit in a comfy, over-sized chair…
    Many thanks, Cindi
    jchoppes[at]hotmail[dot]com

    Reply
  2. Pam K.

    My favorite place to read is curled up on my loveseat. I enjoy reading books set in Kansas, where I live, so Calico Brides is now on my “want to read” list. Thanks for having the drawing for a copy.

    Reply
  3. Patty

    I usually read curled up in the corner of my couch. If the weather is just right outside I like to get out the lawn chair every once in a while and read outside!

    Reply
  4. lorlyn63

    I love to read just about anywhere, but my fave place would probably be my recliner with my feet up. I have been known to go to our local park and read there as well. I am not really fussy about my location, as long as I have a good book in hand! Thank you for the giveaway, I would enjoy reading Calico Brides – it sounds very good! Thank you for featuring good Christian authors and thank you Darlene for writing good Christian books! God’s blessings to you both!

    Lori

    Reply
    1. Kimberly Rose Johnson Post author

      Hi Lori, I’m with you. I’ll read about anywhere, unless there are too many distractions. My husband used to ride the city bus, and I’d see him walking home while reading a book. Not me–I need peace and quiet to read. 🙂 Glad you are enjoying the interviews.
      Kimberly

      Reply
  5. Maxie Lloyd-Hamilton Anderson

    Well, through the years I’ve had different, like I used to read on my front porch but here we have too many mosquitos when the weather is right, and besides I live in a Mobile Park, so can see nothing but other trailers. So, I like to read in my Rocking chair, with my feet up on a footstool and all is quite, then I am quite content. MAXIE

    Reply
  6. jojo elliott

    I love to read outside in the summer, however when I read at night it is in my cozy bed with soft music playing in the background!!! Thanks for the opportunity to win this book, I love the cover and the title!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

