Angel Falls

Angel Falls by Connie Mann

Today Connie Mann is here to tell us about her book Angle Falls. Thanks for joining us Connie.

Thanks so much for the opportunity to be your guest! I’m very excited about Angel Falls, which tells the story of a fiercely protective Brazilian orphanage director and a burned-out Army Ranger who are forced together in a deadly race to save one helpless baby.

When her best friend is killed in an explosion, leaving Regina da Silva with her friend’s young child, she doesn’t realize that the child was as much a target as her friend. Brooks Anderson has been sent to find the child and bring it to the US. When circumstances bring them together in Brazil, they find themselves being pursued by a killer as they protect an orphaned baby.

As the danger heightens around them, so does the attraction between Regina and Brooks, despite their differences. Regina and Brooks have both been broken by their violent pasts, but while Regina relies on her faith to deal with her past, Brooks has turned away from God. Will their pasts stop them from realizing their true feelings for each other when their pursuer strives to keep them apart forever?

This sounds like great story. I noticed that Angel Falls opens in Brazil, did you visit Brazil to do your research?

My father is from Brazil, and the story was inspired by a trip there to visit his hometown of Porto Alegre, in southern Brazil. I learned about the street children that roamed the downtown area for many years and started asking, “What if you were one of those children? How would you survive? Who would you grow up to be?”

Those questions became Regina, my fiercely protective, switchblade-toting orphanage director. The entire story takes place in Brazil, including the climactic scene at Iguacu Falls, one of the world’s largest waterfalls. Brazil is beautiful and I hope to visit again soon!

Regina sounds like someone I’d want to have on my side.:) I was looking at your book on Amazon and the cover design is similar in style to your book Trapped!. Are these books part of a series and will there be more to come?

Angel Falls is intended to be the first book in a series, so I’m hoping I’ll have a chance to publish several more stories. It will depend on reader response!

Trapped! is set in Florida and was written as a stand-alone book. It was not published by a Christian publisher, though it’s written from a Christian worldview (I don’t want readers to be surprised or disappointed). Angel Falls leans more heavily towards adventure; Trapped! leans more towards suspense, I think.

Good to know. Thanks for sharing. Now onto a couple fun questions. What is one thing about you that would surprise people?

Even though writing requires lots of solitude, I’ve learned that too much alone time makes me stir crazy. I’m both a people person and an outdoor person, so I also work as a USCG-licensed boat captain. I piloted glass-bottom boats at Silver Springs for six years and now work for our local school system, taking fifth graders on the Silver River as part of their science curriculum. I love the kids and being outside helps clear my head so I’m ready to get back into my office to write.

That is so cool! I went on a glass bottom boat once in Mexico. It was an interesting experience. What made you want to become a writer?

I’ve loved stories since my early trips to the Bookmobile with my Mom and brother. Books are like magic carpets to whole other worlds. Is there anything more fun than living someone else’s life for a while? I solved crimes with Nancy Drew, spied on my family with Harriet the Spy and hung out with the Little Women. I even had a chance to dance with Rhett Butler.

I kept reading and started writing my own stories, starting with my epic tale about my hamster in third grade. Since then, I’ve written both non-fiction and fiction and after ten looong years, I’m delighted that Angel Falls, my all-time favorite story, is finally available.

Many thanks again for the opportunity to be here!

It was my pleasure Connie.:)

Connie has grasiously offered to give away one copy of Angel Falls. To be entered into the drawing you must answer the following question. What is your favorite genre of fiction?

Rules: There must be ten qualifying comments for the drawing to take place. The drawing closes Sunday May 26, 2013. The winner will be notified by email Monday May 27, 2013. The drawing is only open to U.S. addresses. Void where prohibited by law.

Angel Falls author Connie Mann

Connie Mann loves stories of suspense, adventure and second chances. She offers encouragement to busy women on her blog:  www.BusyWomenBigDreams.com and is an active member of Romance Writers of America and American Christian Fiction Writers. She’s also a USCG-licensed boat captain, so when she’s not writing, she’s usually on Central Florida’s waterways with local school children or her fabulous family. Please visit her online at: www.conniemann.com.

Blog:  www.BusyWomenBigDreams.com

Website:  www.conniemann.com

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/ConnieMannAuthor?ref=hl#!/ConnieMannAuthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/CaptConnieMann

Book Trailer:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=II8IWqaxakI

21 thoughts on “Angel Falls

  1. Pingback: Beating Stereotypes, Surprising Facts & FREE books - Connie Mann

  2. karenk

    thanks for the chance to read this wonderful novel.
    I enjoy Christian fiction…historical; suspense; contemporary…etc.

    Reply
  3. Patty

    I normally read historical christian fiction, but have been trying to expand my book choices and have added several contemporary fiction choices to my reading list!

    Reply
  4. Jo Legat

    Thanks for the chance to read this very interesting sounding novel. I used to stick to only one genre at a time and it would change every few years. Now I like several different kinds but the majority of my reading is Christian fiction and cozies.

    Reply
  5. JackieW

    What an interesting sounding book…I don’t think I’ve read much about Brazil so this would certainly be of interest to me. Thanks for the info.

    Reply
  6. KayM

    I like all genres of Christian fiction. I probably like mystery/suspense best–especially legal or political thrillers, but I would not want a steady diet of those. I like to vary my reading from one book to the next. Right now I’m reading a historical romance from the 1930’s. I just finished up a political/apocalyptic/war novel. I’d love to read this book by Connie Mann.

    Reply
    1. Kimberly Rose Johnson Post author

      I’m with you, KayM. I enjoy the same kind of books as you, but I have to break up the intense reads with sweet romances. I prefer contemporary romance, but enjoy a historical one every now and then.:)

      Reply
      1. Kimberly Rose Johnson Post author

        I’m posting this here for Becky L. since she sent her comment directly to me.
        Pleae enter me in the drawing for Connie Mann’s book, Angel Falls. My favorite kind of book to read is a Christian cozy mystery.

  7. Maxie Lloyd-Hamilton Anderson

    Well, i guess I will have to say right now is Amish, but I love all kinds mostly , the fantasy ones and Alien kinds. Don’t interest me. I like Christian Romances and Historicals, I also like Mysteries and some suspense. And, Indian books. I would love to win this book.
    Maxie mac262(at)me(dot)com

    Reply
  8. splashesofjoy

    I like most Christian fiction, except for fantasy type books. So it is difficult for me to pick a favorite. For me, reading the same genre for a while gets boring, so I like to switch around. I;m pretty flexible.

    would love to win a copy of this one to add to our church library.
    And thanks ladies for the interesting post.
    Blessings…..Joy
    ibjoy1953[at]yahoo.com

    Reply
    1. Kimberly Rose Johnson Post author

      It’s been great having you here. I agree, it’s been fun seeing the reading preferences. I liked learning that I’m not the only one who can’t stick with a steady diet of the same kind of book. LOL It seems variety is the spice of life. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

