Lexi’s Heart

LexisHeart_72_med

Delia, I’m intrigued by your cover. Please tell us about Lexi’s Heart.

Lexi’s Heart is the Mother’s Day story in the 2013 Heart’s Haven Holiday Series. I enjoyed writing this one…but it also brought some tears, because Mother’s Day has become a kind of bittersweet thing for me since my own little Mother passed away in 1996. I miss her so much, but I know she’s with the Lord, and that is a comfort.

I’m sorry about your mom. My husband’s mom passed away around mother’s day too, back in 1991.

Lexi is a little unusual as a heroine, because she’s 43—older than most romance heroines. Her life has not been easy…to the point that she’s become hardened against men in general, and against God. But God still loves Lexi, and He has not forgotten this middle-aged woman tucked away in a small town in East Texas…

Here’s the blurb:

Forty-three-year-old Lexi Carlisle’s abusive marriage ended three years ago. Deeply scarred by the experience, and helplessly watching her beloved mother succumb to Alzheimer’s, Lexi is devastated. After selling her fancy home, she rents a cottage in Heart’s Haven, a special place unlike any other. Slowly learning to live again, she despairs of ever delivering the message of love that burns within her heart for her ever-worsening mother. But Mitch Gaynor, a handsome Christian author, reminds Lexi that with God all things are possible, planting within her battered and distrustful heart the seed of hope for a miracle. But can she open her fortressed heart to God? And is Mitch a part of His plans for her future?

Sounds like a good story. Is there anything in particular that made you want to write Lexi’s Heart?

Let me preface my answer with a brief explanation for those who are not familiar with Heart’s Haven. I’m one of four authors who make up the Heart’s Haven writing team. My cohorts, Marianne Evans, Tanya Stowe, and Mary Manners are amazing, talented ladies, and this venture has been such a blessing to me—in large part because of the relationship between the four of us. We all feel that Heart’s Haven is a “God-thing,” and have enjoyed the journey thus far.

When we decided to do a holiday series, I drew the Spring straw (J). Well…how many Spring holidays can you think of? We already had Easter covered in another Heart’s Haven collection, so my choices were Mother’s Day and St. Patrick’s Day. I couldn’t quite wrap my head around the idea of the Heart’s Haven angels partnered up with little green leprechauns, so….  J Mother’s Day won out.
That makes perfect sense to me.:) I noticed that you have several books on Amazon, is this book part of a series, or do all your books stand alone? I really like the covers by the way.

Why, thank you! Nicola Martinez does an amazing job of designing our covers. I think she outdid herself with the cover for Lexi’s Heart. Isn’t it beautiful? J

To answer your question, though…all the Heart’s Haven books are part of various series/collections–but each story stands very well on its own. Three of my other books make up the Solomon’s Gate Series (Destiny’s Dream, Kylie’s Kiss, and Gypsy’s Game). They do read well as standalones, but you’ll find characters from previous books showing up in books two and three. Treehouse is a short story, which is a great way for readers to try out an author, see if they like her voice and writing style. Goldeneyes is my only novel published through Vinspire Publishing, and will always hold a very special place in my heart. Set partially in Weedpatch, California—the little agricultural community where I grew up—this book is a “vintage romance,” meaning it’s not set back in time far enough to be an historical, and not recent enough to be a contemporary. lol
Cool. That is the first time I’ve ever heard of a story described as vintage. I like it! What is next for you? Can we expect to see another release anytime this year?

There will be a free Heart’s Haven short story…but I’m not sure about the release date on that one just yet, so I can’t say too much about it. But for readers who are familiar with the Heart’s Haven characters, I will say this much: Expect the unexpected from Old Hart. J

I have a short Heart’s Haven release, co-written with Tanya Stowe, coming out in December. We had fun writing this Christmas tale, and I think readers will enjoy it, as well. Here’s a blurb from A Cowboy Christmas:

perf5.500x8.500.indd

A mom on the run. A special child and her “imaginary” friend. A cowboy. And God. Heart’s Haven is at it again…

Layne Mabrey is on the run.

Her ex-husband wants to have six-year-old Chloe institutionalized, but Layne will go to any lengths to keep her Down’s Syndrome child.

Dex Beckett falls immediately in love with both Layne and Chloe, but Layne can’t afford to get close to anyone—not even the shy, gentle cowboy next door. She and Chloe have to be ready to run…again.

Concerned that Chloe’s sudden creation of an imaginary friend could be used to substantiate her father’s claims, Layne is shocked when Dex offers an unbelievable opinion about the child’s invisible visitor. But there’s more to Heart’s Haven than meets the eye. Is it possible a Christmas miracle awaits Layne and Chloe on the Heart’s Haven Angel Tree?

 It sounds like you have some exciting things coming up. I always like to ask one fun question, so here it goes. If you could choose any place in the world to visit where would it be and why?

I would love to visit Ireland. My mother’s family had Irish roots, and I think it would be interesting to walk the soil they walked and look into their lives. J But on the other hand, that first glimpse into “The Shire” in Lord of the Rings made me desperately want to see New Zealand, as well. ((Sigh)) So many places, so little money! lol

They both sound like great place to visit. Thanks for stopping in today to share with us about Lexi’s Heart. Also, thanks for offering to give away an Ebook to one lucky commenter. This is your turn to ask a question. What would you like the commentors to answer in order to be entered for a chance to win?

Do you believe in angels, and do you feel you’ve encountered one?
Great question! Remember you must answer the question in order to be entered. The winner will be notified Monday May 13th.

Delia3 - web - small Born and raised in Weedpatch, California, Delia Latham moved to Oklahoma in ’08, making her a self-proclaimed California Okie. She loves to read and write in her country home, and gets a kick out of watching her husband play Farmer John. She’s a Christian wife, mother, grandmother, sister and friend, but especially loves being a princess daughter to the King of Kings. She loves Dr. Pepper and hearing from her readers. Contact her through her website (www.delialatham.net),  her blog (http://delialatham.blogspot.com), or her Facebook author page (Delia Latham).

Delia writes inspirational romance and women’s fiction, and is currently contracted through White Rose Publishing and Vinspire Publishing.

27 thoughts on “Lexi’s Heart

  1. Martha J. Sturm

    Yes, I do believe in angels. I don’t believe I’ve ever encountered any though. I have been touched by the Holy Spirit during tough times. Do you think it could have been an angel instead?

    Reply
    1. delialatham

      Martha, there’s nothing better than a touch of the Holy Spirit! God Himself, as opposed to one of His messengers? You are blessed! 🙂 But I’m sure you have encountered them, even if you didn’t know you had. Thank you so much for commenting!

      Reply
  2. delialatham

    Kimberly, thank you so much for inviting me to your beautiful blog! I enjoyed our visit.

    Karen, thank you for coming by. I love hearing from readers who believe in angels. I think we’ve all encountered them at some point, though we may not even realize it. The Bible does speak of our meeting angels, unaware. 🙂

    Reply
  3. JoAnn Durgin

    Hi Delia and congrats on the new book. It sounds fabulous! I understand you’ve recently moved BACK to California, right? I have to say that I DO definitely believe in angels. When I was caught in the “rapids” of a creek in the mountains of TN when I was a child (chasing a runaway flip flop, of all things), I started yelling for help because I was scared out of my mind. A man appeared (yes, as if from nowhere) and pulled me out of the creek, put me on the banks of the creek and patted my head (without saying a word). He had a very kind face, I remember. I saw my mom (crying) and brother (yelling) running toward me. When I turned back to thank the man–you guessed it–he was gone. Isn’t HE awesome? I guess He had other plans in mind for me and I thank Him for watching over me that day, and always. Blessings (and waving to Kimberly!).

    Reply
    1. Kimberly Rose Johnson Post author

      JoAnn, your story gave me chills. When I was in high school we were up in Seattle for music festival. We stayed with host families and the college age daughter took myself, her sister and my roommate to the U district. We were in an old beater car and the thing completely died and I mean died, no lights nothing. As you can imagine we were freaked out–four girls in a not-so-nice neighborhood. Then two men showed up and helped us. We turned to thank them for their help and they were gone. Can’t say for sure they were angels, but I believe in my heart that they were. Yes, God is awesome.
      You made me smile when I saw you waving. As soon as I saw your comment I was going to wave a you. LOL

      Reply
      1. JoAnn Durgin

        Hey, Kimberly! Wow…YOUR story gave me chills. I’d be a little freaked out in that circumstance, for sure! Like you, I believe in my heart that man was an angel. Blessings on your week, my friend! Happy writing and reading. 🙂

      2. delialatham

        Kimberly, it’s quite possible those men were angels. Even if they weren’t, they certainly played the part quite well for you and your friends that night! Thank God He sent them along, heavenly angels or earthly ones!

  4. Carolyn Jefferson

    I do believe in angels. Believing they watch over me every day. It had to be an angel who stopped my car from hitting a deer. Something told me to slow down, so I did and there were two deer coming across the road, if been going speed I was, would have hit them.
    Carolynj63@att.net

    Reply
    1. delialatham

      Carolyn, thank you for commenting, and for sharing your story. I firmly believe God watches out for us in every situation. When I hear people use the words, “some told me to…,” I always wonder. 🙂

      Reply
  5. Maxie Lloyd-Hamilton Anderson

    Hello Kimberly. thanks for having Delia as your guest today. I have her book Gypsy’s Heart. Good book. I love the group on Heart’s Haven. They are a neat bunch of girls. I would love to have more of your books Delia, but I don’t have an E-reader. I think the Christmas book will be good. Love my cowboys. LOL Keep up the good work and I’ll see you on Hearts Haven.
    MAXIE mac262(at)me(dot)com

    Reply
    1. Kimberly Rose Johnson Post author

      Hi Maxie, you don’t need an ereader to read an ebook. My dh reads on his ipad mini, and I know people who read on their smart phones. All you need is the app. Just an idea if you have either of those type of products. I know not everyone does, nor do they want them. 🙂
      I prefer print myself, but I’m out of room for print books, so I’m thankful for my ereader.:)

      Reply
  6. Maxie Lloyd-Hamilton Anderson

    I forgot to answer Delia’s question. Yes, the Bible says we have Angels. I haven’t ever tho’t about it being an Angel when I have a near-accident, I just than GOD for watching over me, but guess it could be an angel HE sent to me. I do know we have had many miracles given us in our large Lloyd family. MAXIE mac262(at)me(dot)com

    Reply
    1. delialatham

      Well, Maxie, angels are great, but GOD is awesome! 🙂 We Heart’s Haven girls love you too! Thank you for your support. For the record, I’m contracted for a couple of print books that will be coming up in 2014.

      Reply
  7. Jo Legat

    I definitely believe in angels and know that we have had them surround us several times as well as members of my family.

    Reply
  8. KayM

    I do believe in angels. I can’t say for sure that I’ve encountered one, but I have had many circumstances in life, when I knew that God intervened. How He did so, I do not know, but He could have used His angels.

    Reply
  9. Laura

    I absolutely believe in angels! I don’t think I have ever encountered one, but there have been some wonderful people I have encountered that I believe God has placed in my path.

    Reply
  10. Veronica Sternberg

    I definitely believe in angels. I felt asleep driving once and woke up with my foot pushing the brake as I came to a red light. I believe there was an angel with me!

    Reply
    1. Delia Latham

      Oh, Veronica…so scary, but a wonderful experience for building trust in God!

      I had a similar experience, driving a winding mountain road at night. Fell asleep. I don’t know for how long, but I don’t remember much of the trip, other than trying to stay awake. Wen I crossed the railroad tracks just outside the town we were heading for, it woke me. I firmly believe God sent an angel to guide our car around that mountain.

      Any of you who would like to share your angel stories, we’d love to see them on the Heart’s Haven blog: http://heartshavenbooks.blogspot.com/p/your-angels.html

      Reply

Leave a Reply

