Beyond the Past

A  B.P. COVER FINALToday we welcome Jo Huddleston to share with us about Beyond the Past. Please tell us about Beyond the Past, Jo.

Beyond the Past is an inspirational Southern historical novel with threads of romance and set in the Southern Appalachians of East Tennessee. Here is a little something about the book: Emmajean Callaway’s life in Atlanta plummets from bad to worse. Can big brother, Jim, lead her back to the family who loves her and also hold the imploding Callaway family together?

Jim Callaway looks forward to 1951 and the chance to forge a relationship with Caroline after twenty years apart. He’s sidetracked when his sister and his best friend need his help. His baby sister, Emmajean, skids into jail on drug charges in Atlanta. The ordeal of incarceration and trial diminishes her and she needs rescuing, not only physically but spiritually. She struggles toward recovery and restoration with her lawyer’s help as he champions her inside and outside the courtroom. Jim’s nephew Joe is one step ahead of the truant officer, wrecks his car, and officials suspect alcohol is involved. Joe awaits his fate at the hands of the juvenile court judge. Jim and Caroline continue their bumpy journey as they seek realization of their dreams, wondering if they really can overcome obstacles to their being together after so many years.

I noticed that this is the second book in the series. what was your inspiration?

I and my ancestors were raised in the Southern Appalachians of East Tennessee. I know and care about the people and lifestyle there, which gave me a unique perspective from which to write That Summer. At family reunions I’d listen to my relatives’ fascinating stories about time before I was born. Eventually, I wanted to do this novel and tell about some of the things I’d heard. This is a novel, a work of my imagination combined with remembrances of my family’s stories.

What is next for you?

I’m writing book #3 in the Caney Creek Series, Claiming Peace, which is scheduled to release September 2013.

Thanks for sharing with us about Beyond the Past. Now for a fun question.:) What is your favorite dessert? If you don’t like sweets. What is your favorite meal?

My favorite meal is (drum roll, please) pizza.


Ah, yes–pizza is good. Now for one last question. If your book were an animal what kind of animal would it be and why?

I can’t really equate my book to an animal. I will say that if I were to be an animal I would be an eagle. I love their graceful glide. And no other bird would pick on me!

What a great choice! Thanks for sharing.

Jo has offered to give away a copy of either the first book in the series (That Summer) or Beyond the Past to one lucky commenter,

To be entered you must answer the following question. Considering the explosion of eBook numbers, if you won a contest and had your choice of a print book or an eBook copy, which would you choose and why?

Contest rules: You must have a USA address. You must answer the above question. There must be ten qualifying comments for the drawing to take place. Void where prohibited by law. New followers receive an extra entry.

JO PHOTOJo Huddleston’s debut novel, That Summer, released in December 2012 as the first book in The Caney Creek Series. Huddleston holds a B.A. degree with honors from Lincoln Memorial University (TN), and is a member of their Literary Hall of Fame. She earned a M.Ed. degree from Mississippi State University. Professional membership: American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW).

Signed copies available in the left column on my site www.johuddleston.com

17 thoughts on “Beyond the Past

  1. Judy B

    I loved the book, Last Summer. I am looking forward to reading, Beyond The Past and would be delighted to win a copy of it. Claiming Peace is also going on my list. I will be watching for the release of it in September of 2013.
    I am a new follower of this blog. I also shared this on FB so we can get ten qualifying comments! Come on people!
    Blessings!
    Judy B

    Reply
    1. Kimberly Rose Johnson Post author

      Hey everyone, just want to make it clear. You get One entry for commenting and One if you become a new follower. There are no extra entries for anything else. Also there is no need to tell me if you are a new follower–Wordpress will let me know. To all the new followers thanks for following! I hope you enjoy the blog. 🙂
      Blessings, Kimberly

      Reply
    1. Jo Huddleston

      Pat, I replied to your comment and it appears above. It’s not safe for me to be around anything computery. Anyway, the giveaway is a copy of Beyond the Past so leave your email and let Kimberly enter you in the drawing.

      Reply
    1. Kimberly Rose Johnson Post author

      Sounds good to me. I make the change. I’ll answer your question. I prefer paper books, but I read eBooks about 50% of the time. But I think I prefer print. I like hold a book in my hands and my Kindle Fire is a little heavy. A book is also lighter and safer to tote around.

      Reply
      1. Alice J. Wisler

        I will always prefer paper books for many reasons. The whiff of the paper pages of a new book or even the musty smeill of an old one mean a lot to me. I like to hold a print book, feel the pages as I turn them, use a paper bookmark and place a book on my shelf so that when I pass it, I can recall the story and how reading it made me feel.

  2. patti shene

    Hi Jo. Your books sound great. I believe you asked the question of which I prefer, ebook or print book. I like both, but if I were to win one, I would want a print book. Reason? I can pass it on to our local public library where I am a member of the Board of Trustees. We are on an extremely limited budget and I try to do my best to donate quality books.

    patti.shene@gmail.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

